Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 98 guests and no members online


Photo:  Rob Dorazio, Elise Dorazio with Northern Championship Best & Fairest Winner [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]

Launceston City’s 2017 annual presentation night was held at the Australian Italian Club in Launceston on the evening of Saturday, 16 October.

More than 140 players, members, life members and sponsors attended the function.


Photo:  The Launceston City Northern Championship 1 title-winning side [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]

Aaron Campbell won the 2017 Peter Savill Medal for the NPL Tasmania side’s best-and-fairest award by one vote from Dylan Williams.

NPL Tasmania Rising Star award winner, Noah Mies, won the side’s Golden Boot Award as the top scorer.

In the Super League ladies’ team, Beth Bygrave capped off her fine year by taking out the Best & Fairest award with 41 votes from Caitlin Storay's 19.

Emily Hernyk's excellent goals throughout the year ensured that she won the Golden Boot (22 goals).

Lucienne Dewsbury was rewarded for her dedication and commitment in playing for both of the women’s sides and was awarded the 'Committee's Player of the Year' award.

Lucienne, a talented young lady who, amazingly, also composes music, was the cream of the crop for the Championship Women, taking out the team's Best & Fairest award with 14 votes ahead of Chelsea Baker (10).

In her time filling in for the side on a few occasions, Caitlin Storay was the side’s Golden Boot winner with 11 goals.

Joe Dorazio continues to develop into a star, winning the Championship Men's Best & Fairest on 14 votes, just ahead of Scott Mahony, who finished on 12.


Photo:  Justin and Lisa Dyer with U18's Best & Fairest Winner Charlie Dyer [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]

There was no matching Mackenzie Hancox's hunger for goals and he duly took out the team’s Golden Boot Award (14 goals).

There was never any doubt in who was taking out the Best & Fairest award in the victorious Championship 1 side. Kale Murphy finished on 34 votes, more than double the tally for runner-up and Golden Boot winner Joshua Duncan, who polled 15 votes.

Charlie Dyer was crowned the Under-18 Best & Fairest with 24 votes, ahead of Kaleb Lyons on 14, with speedster Yak Koryom banging in 14 goals for the Golden Boot Award.

The Peter Mies Rising Star Awards were presented to Hayden Simeoni for his performances across the Northern Championship sides in a variety of roles.

While Chelsea Baker had an excellent year playing for the Westside Devils, our Championship Women, she then started to break into the Super League side before a cruel knee injury ended her season prematurely.

President Austin Fagan awarded Greg Lyons with the President's Award for his hard work and dedication around the club, whether it's being match manager for the U18s, coaching the U18s in JD's absence, assisting the other teams preparing for their games, or assisting behind the bar just to name a few!


Photo:  Michael and Cathy Hancox alongside Northern Championship Golden Boot winner Mackenzie Hancox [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]

Award Summary


Peter Savill Medal (NPL B&F) - Aaron Campbell

Golden Boot - Noah Mies (6)

Super League

B&F - Beth Bygrave

Golden Boot - Emily Hernyk (22)

Northern Championship Men

B&F - Joe Dorazio

Golden Boot - Mackenzie Hancox (14)

Northern Championship Women

B&F - Lucienne Dewsbury

Golden Boot - Caitlin Storay (11)

Northern Championship 1 Men (title winners)

B&F - Kale Murphy

Golden Boot - Joshua Duncan

Northern Championship U18 Men

B&F - Charlie Dyer

Golden Boot - Yak Koryom

Committee Player of the Year

Lucienne Dewsbury

President's Award

Greg Lyons

Peter Mies Rising Star Awards

Hayden Simeoni & Chelsea Baker


Photo:  2017 Peter Savill Medal Winner - Aaron Campbell and LCFC's Super League Best & Fairest Winner - Beth Bygrave [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]


Photo:  Launceston City Women's Super League best-and-fairest winner Beth Bygrave [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]


Photo:  Aaron Campbell won the Peter Savill Medal [Photo courtesy of Launceston City]


Meanwhile, Launceston City's player-coach in 2017, Ben Brookfield, will be coaching in Queensland next season.

Brookfield has been named as Football Wide Bay's Under-20s coach.

Football Wide Bay are in the Queensland NPL second-tier competition and former Northern Rangers coach Tim Lunnon is with the Bundaberg-based club.

Brookfield also intends playing for the club's senior side.


Add comment

Security code