Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 127 guests and no members online

Tilford Zebras are in danger yet again of being pretenders.

Some people have installed them as Victory League title favourites, but they failed at the first hurdle of the year when they lost 2-0 to Olympia Warriors in the Summer Cup final.

Write South Hobart off at your peril.

The reigning Victory League champions may have lost nine of their squad from last season, but coach Ken Morton is adept at ‘pulling rabbits out of hats’ and he will have a competitive squad.

Nick in his Jeep

Photo:  Zebras president Nick Di Giovanni said Bwele will not be coming [PlessPix]

Guy Bwele will not be playing in the Victory League this season.

Tilford Zebras president Nick Di Giovanni said the club’s attempts to obtain a visa for Bwele, a Cameroon international, had failed.


Photo:  Knights' Noah Thorne (left) shadowed by the Lions' Seung Yong Jin [PlessPix]

Glenorchy Knights 1 (J Hey pen) lost to Kingborough Lions United 2 (Jin, D Cowen)


Photo:  Shae Hickey has signed for Knights and this is a huge coup for the club [PlessPix]

Glenorchy Knights and Kingborough Lions United have announced their 20-man Victory League squads.

The Victory League season commences on Friday, 28 March 2014 with Glenorchy Knights playing reigning champions South Hobart at KGV Park at 8pm.


Photo:  When will some Tasmanian football clubs reach for the sky? [PlessPix]

I sometimes despair about football in Tasmania and wonder why I even bother to cover it in interstate publications.

Burnie United have forfeited their Round of 16 match in the Milan Lakoseljac Memorial Trophy competition against Tilford Zebras, which had been scheduled for KGV Park tomorrow at 3pm.


Photo:  Tilford Zebras have goalkeeper Nathan Pitchford (right of front row) to thanks for their Summer Cup triumph [PlessPix]

(Summer Cup Final, Division B, KGV Park, Monday, 10 March 2014)

Tilford Zebras 1 (D Cox 36)

South Hobart 0

HT:  1-0   Att:  300   Ref:  A Cooke

Tilford Zebras:  Pitchford;  Brennan, Cox, Fraraccio, Harrison, Heffernan, Kadisha, Smith, Warrener, Welch, Woodford  (Interchange:  Fleming)

South Hobart:  Moncur;  Chorney, N Clarke, C Di Martino, C Downes, Hall, Kass, Nugent, Undy, Walter, Williamson  (Interchange:  Becker, Gofton, Hamlett, Ludlow, J Stevens)


Photo:  The NTC side after their Houdini-like act to win the Women's Summer Cup [PlessPix]

(Women’s Summer Cup Final, KGV Park, Monday, 10 March 2014)

NTC 6 (S Hutchinson 27, 35, L Johnson 83, 92, A Medwin 90, P Ayton 96)

Olympia Warriors 4 (E Gavalas 11, R Cavarretta 16, 74, B Cantrell 82)

HT:  2-2  Att:  800   Ref:  I Jozeljic

NTC:  M Johnston;  Ayton, Blackman, Dadswell, Hutchinson, L Johnson, Lulitanond, Medwin, Michael, Parker, Roberts (Interchange:  Crawford, Fitzgerald, Gee, Ryan, Westwood)

Olympia Warriors:  Cook;  Baker, Berry, Cantrell, N Cavarretta, R Cavarretta, Gavalas, C Hale, McNeill, Nettlefold, O’Brien  (Interchange:  Fry, Grimsey, Saunders, K Vienna-Hallam, Ibrahim)