Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 233 guests and no members online

I Robson and Palmer

Photo:  Melbourne Victory CEO Ian Robson (left) and FFT CEO Mike Palmer at North Hovart Oval today [Photo courtesy of FFT]

Melbourne Victory will face rivals Sydney FC in an A-League pre-season friendly at North Hobart Oval on Sunday, 28 September, 2014.

The curtain-raiser will feature a Tasmanian Victory League All Stars side against the Melbourne Victory youth side, which will also contain a sprinkling of senior players.

Tilford Zebras midfielder, Curran Ferns, has been axed from the 30-man Tasmanian squad to meet Melbourne Victory in September.

His removal follows an apparent indiscretion on a social media page in reference to South Hobart, his former club.

Palmer Michael 11 August 2014 a

Photo:  Michael Palmer, the new CEO of FFT, clarified the coaching situation at NTC yesterday [PlessPix]

NTC men’s and women’s coaches Dean May and Michael Edwards, respectively, have not had their contracts renewed and will be without positions come the end of the month.

But, the men’s and women’s NTC programs will continue.

G McNeill and Prior

Photo:  Glen McNeill (left), joint State coach, and FFT technical director Spencer Prior, announced the 30-man squad today at a media conference [PlessPix]

Football Federation Tasmania (FFT) has released the 30-man squad for Tasmania’s match versus Melbourne Victory on Sunday September 28, 2014.

The Tasmania squad is a Victory League All-Star squad, made up from the best players in the Victory League and has been selected by FFT Technical Director Spencer Prior, in consultation with Tasmania head coaches Glen McNeill and Tim Lunnon.

T Young and Brennan

Photo:  South Hobart's Andy Brennan (centre) tries to get a view of the ball between Kingborough's Tom Young (left) and Benn Watkins [PlessPix]

South Hobart need just one point to snare their seventh consecutive league title and their second Victory League honour in succession in the two-year history of the State-wide Tasmanian league.

The reigning champions overwhelmed sixth-placed Kingborough Lions United 6-1 away at Lightwood Park on Sunday and need just a point against fifth-placed Devonport City at home at South Hobart Oval next Saturday to capture the title.

Davies and Ludlow

Photo:  Kingborough's Joe Davis (left) prepares to tackle South Hobart's Caleb Ludlow [PlessPix]

Victory League

Kingborough Lions United 1 (A Hedge 81) lost to South Hobart 6 (B Mann 17, 31, 63, P McEldowney 28 og, A Brennan 36, D Hall 92)

S Brassington and Fagg

Photo:  Rangers' Shane Brassington (left) tries to wrong-foot Zebras' Henry Fagg [PlessPix]

Victory League

Tilford Zebras 2 (A Leszczynski 65 pen, E Engels 79) drew with Northern Rangers 2 (S Brassington 49 pen, N Lanau-Atkinson 60)

Devonport City 3-0 Glenorchy Knights

Olympia Warriors 2 (G Rumney 8, B Kabangu 59) beat Launceston City 1 (A Martin 84 pen)

Mi  Edwards

Photo:  Michael Edwards, NTC women's coach, could be out of a job [PlessPix]

The NTC men’s and women’s football programs in Tasmania could be at an end.

The men’s and women’s coaches of the programs will not have their contracts renewed at this stage and their employment will end on 1 September 2014, despite the fact that both NTC teams have training, match and competition schedules in place over the next few months.