Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 226 guests and no members online


Photo:  George Arnott (left) and Marcello Marchioli with the "George Arnott Trophy" [Photo courtesy of Julie Pearce]

Midfielder Marcello Marchioli, the captain of Victory League club Kingborough Lions United, won the 2013 George Arnott Medal as the Lions’ best player during the inaugural Victory League season.

Marchioli just pipped central defender Nick Cuthbertson for the award in the final round of voting.


Photo:  Millie-Jo Lamprecht with the Zoe Nolan Medal [Photo courtesy of Julie Pearce]

Marchioli capped a fine evening at the Southern Lights Hotel on Saturday by also being presented with the President’s Award for service to the club.

Midfielder Michael Palmer was the senior team’s Players’ Player-of-the-Year for the Lions.

The Zoe Nolan Medal for the best player in the Women’s Premier League team went to Millie-Jo Lamprecht, while Laura Minnebo was awarded the Players’ Player-of-the-Year trophy.

Malcolm Braddock took out the Players’ Player-of-the-Year and the Bernie Siggins Medal in the Men’s Premier League voting, while the Women’s Premier Reserves Best-and-Fairest and Players’ Player-of-the-Year were taken out by Eleanor Coleman and Ruth Iles, respectively.


Photo:  Lewis Verdouw with the Alistair Rattray Memorial Trophy [Photo courtesy of Julie Pearce]

Kingborough’s Under-20 Best-and-Fairest award went to Daniel Fleming and the Most Consistent award went to Jeremy Ayres in place of a Players’ Player-of-the-Year trophy.

Former senior goalkeeper Adam Coleman was made a Life Member of the club as a result of many years of dedicated service.

Current Victory League youngster Lewis Verdouw was presented with the Alistair Rattray Memorial Trophy for the most promising male youth player.

The Golden Boot trophy for top goal-scorer at the club went to former senior and current League One player William Walker.

The Laurie Harvey and Mike Perrin Perpetual Trophies for the outstanding club person and service went to Colin Robbins and Simon Edwards, respectively, with Edwards also receiving the Hughes Family Perpetual Trophy, alongside his partner, Jan Stewart, for their work with the club’s junior program.


Photo:  Michael Palmer with the Lions' senior Players' Player-of-the-Year trophy [Photo courtesy of Julie Pearce]

Phillip McEldowney and Marc Iseli were the winners of the club’s League One awards, winning the Best-and-Fairest and Players’ Player-of-the-Year awards, respectively, the .

The League Three Best-and-Fairest and Players’ Player-of-the-Year went to Aidan McKay and Gabriel Peattie, while the Over-35 Best-and-Fairest and Players’ Player-of-the-Year went to Michael Easton and Ian Cannon.


+3 #6 Anonymous 2013-09-30 07:07
Quoting Anonymous:
Can't believe Collins didn't win it - had a superb season but maybe late injuries cruelled his chances?

He didn't play for about the last 10 rounds stupid
-1 #5 Anonymous 2013-09-27 22:08
#4 If your talking about the team I think your talking about, he wouldn't make the starting XI.
Borough had an average year hence no players were outstanding. Captains drag votes. Big improvement needed next year at the Den but good start appointing Colin Robbins as TC. Now for a new coach to match him...
-2 #4 Maldini 2013-09-27 12:24
Any truth in the rumour that the mayor of Kingborough will be in different stripes next year?
-2 #3 Anonymous 2013-09-27 04:32
Can't believe Collins didn't win it - had a superb season but maybe late injuries cruelled his chances?
+11 #2 Anonymous 2013-09-27 03:34
They sure did miss Iseli this year in 1sts
+6 #1 Anonymous 2013-09-26 23:19
Congrats to the winners!

When is the SPL awards night??

Add comment

Security code