Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 325 guests and no members online


Photo:  Vincent Kamano is outnumbered by Sarawak defenders at a corner [PlessPix]

(International Friendly, KGV park, Thursday, 10 October 2013)

NTC 2 (V Kamano 8, J Hope 15)

Sarawak Under-20s 0

HT:  2-0   Att:  50   Ref:  S Plomaritis

NTC:  Witte;  Schmidt, Thomas, Stevens, Eyles, Kemp, Atkinson, Kamano, Hope, Wilson, Urquhart  (Interchange:  Pizzerani, Lessek, X Castaneda, Ortmann, E Castaneda)

Sarawak Under-20s:  Fiqri;  Fazli, Molby, Manjah, Izzuddin, Effenfi, Jelaing, Jotaem, Azhar, Engan, Farizan  (Interchange:  Farhan, Jasmi, Zubir, Yusri, Shariee, Haizam, Edmond, Tuah)


Photo:  NTC's Eduardo Castaneda (right) tackles a Sarawak opponent [PlessPix]

International Friendly

NTC 2 (V Kamano 8, J Hope 15) beat Sarawak Under-20s 0


Photo:  Johnny Genovesi today.  He was a star for Juvemtus in 1973 and was selected in an Australian Under-23 side to tour Indonesia [PlessPix]

Forty years ago, South Hobart decided to turn professional.

The year was 1973 and South Hobart were staring relegation from the Cambridge League in the face.


Photo:  South Hobart's Christian Di Martino (second from right) tries to block a Sarawak clearance [PlessPix]

(International friendly, South Hobart Oval, Thursday, 8 October 2013)

South Hobart Under-20s 1 (J Nugent 20)

Sarawak Under-20s 1 (M Lidin 1)

HT:  1-1   Att:  50   Ref:  P Galloway

South Hobart Under-20s:  Becker;  Nugent, N Clarke, Hall, Thomas, Walter, Lees, Gofton, Williamson, Rogers, Downes  (Interchange:  Wilkes, Cooke, C Di Martino, Maxwell)

Sarawak Under-20s:  Mohammad;  Malem, Adenan, Effendi, Yahya, Lidin, Rina, Tuah, Jelaing, Jotaem, Manjah  (Interchange:  Isa, Arisandy, Engan, Jem,Jahidin, Roslee, Ishak, Morsidi, Jamel, Shukraw)


Photo:  Tasmania's Aiden Rigby on the attack and supported by Brayden Mann [PlessPix]

(International friendly, South Hobart Oval, Sunday, 6 October 2013)

Tasmania Under-20s 6 (Jin 6, Mann 10, 18, 23, Luate 73, N Lanau-Atkinson 93)

Sarawak Under-20s 1 (Izzuddim 78)

HT:  4-0   Att:  300   Ref:  C Philipps

Tasmania:  Pierce; Gorrie, Phillips, Cuthbertson, Hey, Stone, Rigby, Undy, N Lanau-Atkinson, Mann, Jin  (Interchange:  Cornish, Mearns, P Lanau-Atkinson, Denehey, Ochaya, E Engels, Luate)

Sarawak:  Farhan; Jasmi, Zubir, Fazli, Molby, Manjah, Yusri, Shariee, Effenfi, Edmond, Ajang Engan  (Interchange:  Fiqri, Izzudin, Farizan, Jelaing, Jotaem, Azhar, Haizam, Tuah)


Photo:  South Hobart's Kostas Kanakaris (right) takes on Campbelltown City's Haris Vuckic [PlessPix]

(NPL Semi-final, South Hobart Oval, Sunday, 6 October 2013)

South Hobart 3 (J Templin 24, C Hunt 80, N Morton 86)

Campbelltown City 1 (O Totani 91)

HT:  1-0   Att:  600  Ref:  B Kopra

South Hobart:  Ferguson  -  Scott, Ludford, Hill, Williams  - Hickey, Ludlow, N Morton  -  Templin (Thomas 84), Hunt (Hamlett 82), Kanakaris  (Subs not used:  Fielding, Lewis, Pierce)

Campbelltown City:  Pogliacomi  -  Vuckic, McSorley, Harvey, Halliday  -  Kirk (Piscioneri 51), Parhas  -  Mbarga, Totani, Ture (Marafioti 54)  -  Maio (Matricciani 67)  (Subs not used:  Matricciani, Piscioneri, Marafioti)


Photo:  Jackson Nugent scores with a header to equalise for South Hobart against Sarawak today [PlessPix]

International friendly

South Hobart Under-20s 1 (J Nugent 20) drew with Sarawak Under-20s 1 (M Lidin 1)


Photo:  Tommy Fotak collects Aaron Cairns's trophies from Zebras president Nick Di Giovanni.  Cairns is currently in America. [PlessPix]

Aaron Cairns was voted the Tilford Zebras best-and-fairest Victory League player on a count-back ahead of Mattias Toghill.

Both players polled 19 votes at the club’s awards night on Saturday at the Australian Italian Club.