Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 183 guests and no members online


Photo:  Tasmanian skipper Hugh Ludford did very well in the South Hobart awards [PlessPix]

Defender Hugh Ludford was last night named as South Hobart’s best player of the 2012 season.

Ludford captained South Hobart this season as the club won their fifth Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League title, and he was also captain of the Tasmanian team that lost 4-0 to Melbourne Victory before a record crowd at KGV Park in August.


Photo:  Shae Hickey (right) shared South Hobart's Players' Player of the Year award with Hugh Ludford [PlessPix]

The award for South Hobart’s senior team Players’ Player was shared by Ludford and midfielder Shae Hickey.

Tasmanian representative striker Andy Brennan was the senior side’s leading scorer.

South Hobart held their presentation dinner last night at the Derwent Sailing Squadron in Sandy Bay and about 110 people were in attendance.

Other South Hobart awards were:


Best Player: Colin Wain

Player’s Player: Colin Wain

Leading Goal Scorer: Sangsun Kang


Best Player: Darcy Hall

Player’s Player: Max Clarke

Leading Goal Scorer: Max Clarke


Photo:  State representative striker Andy Brennan shared South Hobart's leading goalscorer award with Max Clarke [PlessPix]


Best Player: Luke Huigsloot

Player’s Player: Luke Huigsloot

Leading Goal Scorer: Peter Skalkos


Photo:  Max Clarke scored 54 goals for South Hobart in all grades this past season [PlessPix]

The L MCGUINNESS TROPHY (Club Leading Goal Scorer) was tied on 54 goals.  Joint winners were Andy Brennan and Max Clarke.

South Hobart’s head coach, Ken Morton, was inducted into the Coaches Honour Roll for his success since joining the club in 2008.

The club confirmed that Morton has signed another three-year contract with the South Hobart and will continue as head coach until late 2015.

Meanwhile, Rob Clarke, will leave Morton Soccer School and become technical director of Victory League club Olympia Warriors.


Photo:  Rob Clarke is off to Olympia Warriors to be their technical director [PlessPix]


+5 #14 Anonymous 2012-09-30 23:47
congrats to hughie on an amazing year. also to shae. such skills.

about time hughie and shae both grabbed the limelight.
+6 #13 Brian 2012-09-30 00:32
Quoting Anonymous:
how did they score 54 each??

The award they shared was the Les McGuinness Perpetual Trophy . This originated many years ago . The recipient is the player who has the highest aggregate number of goals scored in a season irrespective of the " grades" (original caption that's how old the award is ) in which the goals were scored.
+11 #12 Anonymous 2012-09-29 22:54
Quoting Anonymous:
Walter...what's going on ? Photos of SHFC and MSS... what's changed ?

I'm not from South but what is the matter? Does he have to tell you and justify when he thinks enough is enough... we need to stop this kind inflamatory comments in this blog. It does not help anybody... Lets move on... a new season ahead of us... New challenges...
+4 #11 Anonymous 2012-09-29 22:47
Quoting Lily White:
Ask not what South Hobart can do for you.

Ask only what you can do for South Hobart.

Brian Roberts saved the club out of his own pocket 15 years ago.

I must correct you . 15 years ago I was on the Board of Soccer Tas .

I did not make any out of pocket sacrifice to assist SHSC. Others may have done so.
+4 #10 Anonymous 2012-09-29 22:46
Quoting Anonymous:
Great news re Rob :0)

... from an Olympia perspective that is.
+2 #9 Anonymous 2012-09-29 22:45
Quoting anonymous:
Congrats to Hugh and Shae on their awards re players player. In my mind, this is the highest honour. I would be interested to see a list of who won this across all PL clubs - think it to be far more indicative of performance than any other award.

not all clubs have this award.
+7 #8 Anonymous 2012-09-29 21:56
Huigy! Div 4 legend!
+6 #7 anonymous 2012-09-29 12:24
Congrats to Hugh and Shae on their awards re players player. In my mind, this is the highest honour. I would be interested to see a list of who won this across all PL clubs - think it to be far more indicative of performance than any other award.
+9 #6 Richo 2012-09-29 11:38
Congrats to Hughie - an inspirational leader all season, played excellent games every week, so many critical interceptions and he kept a young team together brilliantly. Great to see Shae the magician recognised too. That cheeky little bugger who brought us so many delightful moments of skill & spirit throughout the season. Thanks to both of you.
+9 #5 Scheinmeister 2012-09-29 11:01
Congratulations Hugh, for such a fine season personally and by the team.

Add comment

Security code