Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 84 guests and no members online


Photo:  FFT CEO John Boulous (left), FFT president Sean Collins (centre) and Melbourne Victory managing director Richard Wilson at today's announcement at KGV Park [PlessPix]

The T-League will go ahead in March next year and it will be officially known as the Victory League.

Football Federation Tasmania today announced they had signed a three-year deal with A-League club Melbourne Victory, who will be the naming rights sponsor of the new State-wide competition.


(Courtesy of Stefano Lufi, Mr Video, and filmed by Ayden Demaijer)


Photo:  Will Eagles skipper Mark Page (left) lead his side to the 2012 title? [PlessPix]

With just four rounds of games to go, South Hobart and New Town Eagles are, realistically, the only two sides capable of winning the Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League title.

And, the two sides meet at South Hobart on Sunday, 5 August 2012, in a crucial showdown.


Photo:  Knights' Will Roberts controls the ball ahead of eagles' Adam McKeown [PlessPix]

(Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League, KGV Park, Sunday, 22 July 2012)

Glenorchy Knights 0

New Town Eagles 6 (A McKeown 4, 56, 62, A Leszczynski 55, A Holmes 81 og, C Collins 85)

HT: 0-1   Att: 100   Ref: P Galloway

Glenorchy Knights: Peter  -  J Hey, Johnson (Kabangu 65), Holmes, Roberts (Robinson 65)  -  Marney (Letiko 58), Nowicki, Clay, Robb  -  Dawes, Kamano  (Subs not used:  Sherman, Strang)

New Town Eagles: N Pitchford  -  Page, Cox, Marshall, Anderson (Collins 77)  -  Whitehall (Stingle 79), Hudson, Scott, Clamp  -  Leszczynski (Moore 86), McKeown  (Subs not used:  Quan, Graham)


Photo:  Clarence's David Hoppitt breaks clear on the right flank [PlessPix]

(Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League, Wentworth Park, Saturday, 21 July 2012)

Clarence United 2 (E Tsakiris 41 pen, A Cairns 81)

University 0

HT: 1-0   Att: 80   Ref: C Phillips

Clarence United: Ortiz (Dyson 75)  -  Toghill, Hedge, Rees, Price  -  Cannamela, Richardson (Malcolm 80), Cairns, McIntyre  -  Hoppitt, E Tsakiris (Aldridge 84)  (Subs not used:  Mizuno, Hardwick)

University: D Kruijver  -  Conroy, Merry, Barnard (Spurr 91), Andrews  -  D Booth, Hindmarsh, Scott, Hewson (Proud 46)  -  H Booth, Watts  (Subs not used:  Sheppard, MacMillan, De Paoli)


Photo:  Knights' Jade Clay (left) and Eagles' Alex Leszczynski go for the ball [PlessPix]

Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League

Glenorchy Knights 0 lost to New Town Eagles 6 (A Mckeown 4, 56, 62, A Leszczynski 55, A Holmes 81 og, C Collins 85)


Photo:  University's Damien Scott heads clear [PlessPix]

Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League

South Hobart 5 (Brennan 2, Lantouris 2, Morton) beat Tilford Zebras 1 (J Foley-Donoghue)

Clarence United 2 (E Tsakiris 41 pen, Cairns 81) beat University 0

The race for the Forestry Tasmania Northern Premier League title will be on in earnest today with the three leading sides all facing crucial matches.

Leaders Ulverstone can improve their title chances by downing third-placed Northern Rangers away at the NTCA Ground, while second-placed Devonport City will be hoping their rivals draw and that they beat Somerset and thus jump into first place.