Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 98 guests and no members online


Photo:  The destination of the title is in New Town Eagles' hands [PlessPix]

The Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League title is still up for grabs with two rounds remaining.

South Hobart and New Town Eagles are level at the top on 44 points, but South’s five-goal better goal-difference puts them in the box seat.


Photo:  Tilford is prominent of the Zebras shirts [PlessPix]

Tilford Zebras are the first Victory League club to announce a naming rights sponsor for the next three years.

The managing director of the Tilford Group, Justin Rooke, has announced the three-year deal with the club worth $50,000.


Photo (L-R):  Liam Scott, Jamie De Smit and Adam McKeown are in the 20-man State squad [PlessPix]

Twenty players have been selected from the initial group of 50 for the Tasmanian squad to meet Melbourne Victory at KGV Park at 7pm on Tuesday, 21 August.

The latest squad consists of 14 southerners and 6 northerners.


Photo:  Knights' Jacob Huigsloot manages to poke the ball clear while being tackled [PlessPix]

(Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League, KGV Park, Saturday, 4 August 2012)

Glenorchy Knights 1 (J Huigsloot 65)

University 0

HT: 0-0   Att: 50   Ref: S Plomaritis

Glenorchy Knights: Peter  -  J Hey, Johnson, Holmes, Robb (Robinson 81)  -  Marney, Clay (Roberts 66), J Huigsloot, Nowicki  -  Kamano (Dawes 56), Strang  (Subs not used:  Letiko, Sherman)

University: D Kruijver  -  D Booth (Davies 15), Barnard, Andrews, Conroy  -  H Booth, Watts, Hindmarsh, Galloway (Hewson 77)  -  Proud, De Paoli (Sheppard 59)  (Sub not used:  Driver)


Photo:  Dean May and Kurt Reynolds confer as the Southern players warm up [PlessPix]

The Southern Tasmanian contingent of the Tasmanian football squad preparing for the game against Melbourne Victory at KGV Park at 7pm on Tuesday, 21 August, went through their paces at Warrior Park last night.

State coach Kurt Reynolds was assisted by FFT/NTC coach, Dean May.


Photo:  Dane Hudson, the new senior coach at Launceston City [PlessPix]

Dane Hudson has been appointed coach and technical director of Launceston City, one of the clubs which will compete in next season’s inaugural Victory League State wide competition.

Hudson has been technical director of Launceston City since the beginning of this year.


Photo:  New Town Eagles salute their fans as they leave the pitch [PlessPix]

(Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League, South Hobart, Sunday, 5 August 2012)

South Hobart 0

New Town Eagles 1 (A McKeown 84)

HT: 0-0   Att: 300   Ref: K Barker

South Hobart: Moncur  -  Duffy, Bladel, Ludford, Williams  -  Feral, Eaves (Ince 46), Hickey  -  Brennan, N Morton, Lantouris (M Clarke 88)  (Subs not used:  McGoldrick, N Clarke, Merkuzic)

New Town Eagles: N Pitchford  -  Cox  -  Anderson, Page, Hudson  -  Whitehall, Clamp (Marshall 77), Scott, Collins (Quan 77)  -  McKeown, Leszczynski  (Subs not used:  McCormack, Bates, Graham)


Photo:  The victorious New Town Eagles side leave the pitch after their win over South Hobart today [PlessPix]

Forestry Tasmania Southern Premier League

South Hobart 0 lost to New Town Eagles 1 (A McKeown 84)