Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 82 guests and no members online


Photo:  Todd Hingston (left) and Mark Baker with their medals [PlessPix]

Todd Hingston, 23, of Northern Rangers, and Mark Baker, 31, of league champions Prospect Knights, are the joint winners of the 2011 George Dale Medal.

Hingston was the winner of this award, for the Forestry Tasmania Northern Premier League best-and-fairest player, for the previous two seasons.


Photo:  A relative of George Dale presents the medals to Mark Baker and Todd Hingston [PlessPix]

Hingston and Baker polled 20 votes apiece, one more than third-placed Chris McKenna of Devonport City.

The referees in each game award votes to players on a 3-2-1 basis to determine the eventual winner.

“To win the George Dale Medal after playing soccer for Prospect Knights or Launceston Croatia since I was 15 is a great honour and very unexpected, I must say,” said Mark Baker.

“I didn’t think I’d be in the running at all.

“To be up there with players like Todd and Chris McKenna and so many other good players, I don’t consider myself the best player in the league by any means.

“I just to do my best for my club and winning the league meant certainly a lot more than any individual award.”


Photo:  Chelsea Smith, the leading scorer in the Women's Premier League [PlessPix]

This win was Hingston’s third in a row.

“I’m extremely surprised,” said Hingston.  “Very surprised, actually.

“I didn’t expect it at all, to be quite honest.  I’ve indulged a little bit too much, not expecting to win.  I thought Chris McKenna would win it for sure.

“Three wins in a row is quite an achievement for an average player.  Very lucky, I think.”

“I’ll be staying with Rangers.  They’re a good club and good blokes and there’s a good atmosphere to be around.”


Photo:  Lauren Hough was the Women's Premier League best-and-fairest player [PlessPix]

Lauren Hough of champions Launceston City took out the Women’s Premier League best-and-fairest award with 24 votes, two more than Georgia Foote of Ulverstone.  But, one of Ulverstone’s games was not played and votes were therefore not allocated, which means Foote was possibly disadvantaged.

Casimir Douglas of Devonport City was the Premier Reserve League’s best-and-fairest player and was presented with the Fred Paice Medal.  Douglas polled 27 votes.


Photo:  Yitay Towns, the best-and-fairest in the Under-18 League [PlessPix]

Yitay Towns of Northern Rangers won the Under-18 League best-and-fairest award.

The Forestry Tasmania Northern Premier League coach-of-the-year was Dane Hudson of Prospect Knights, who won their first title in 52 years, pipping Northern Rangers on goal-difference.

Launceston City’s Jason Jones was named as the Women’s Premier League coach-of-the-year.  City won the league title.

The referee-of-the-year was Mark Spicer.

The leading scorer in the Forestry Tasmania Northern Premier League was Devonport City’s Chris McKenna with 28 goals, while the leading scorer in the Women’s Premier League was Launceston City’s Chelsea Smith with 35 goals.


Photo:  Leading Premier League scorer Chris McKenna (left) with fans Nathan Gratton and Leanne Hingston [PlessPix]

The leading marksman in the Northern League One competition was Launceston City’s Roger Mies, who netted an amazing 46 goals.

Kurt Howard of Devonport City took out the leading scorer award in the Premier Reserve League with 23 goals, while John Wani of Northern Rangers was the leading scorer in the Under-18s with 14 goals.\


Photo:  Kurt Howard of Devonport City, the Premier Reserve League's leading marksman [PlessPix]

The leading vote-getters in the George Dale Medal count were:

Mark Baker (Prospect Knights) and Todd Hingston (Northern Rangers) 20

Chris McKenna (Devonport City) 19

Benjamin Foote (Ulverstone) 18

Matthew Sessay (Prospect Knights) 17

Nathan Gratton (Devonport City 15

Chris Smith (Somerset) 14

Derek Schipper (Northern Rangers) 11

Chris Hunt (Northern Rangers) 9

Sam Cocks (Burnie United) 9

Will Guy (Riverside Olympic) 7


Photo:  Fred Paice Medal winner Casimir Douglas (left) of Devonport City [PlessPix]

The leading vote-getters in the Women’s Premier League were:

Lauren Hough (Launceston City) 24

Georgia Foote (Ulverstone) 22

Chelsea Smith (Launceston City) 17

Emma Humphries (Somerset) 16

Krystine Jeffrey (Devonport City) 16

Rebecca Wheatley (Northern Rangers) 16

Shannon Best (Somerset) 16

Danielle Mitchell (Ulverstone) 15

Felicity Shaw (Northern Rangers) 15

Naomi Celebre (Riverside Olympic) 15

Faith Cochrane (Devonport City) 14

Ellie Schmidt (UTAS) 13

Caitlin Hammersley (Launceston City) 11

Caitlin Storay (Launceston City) 11

Emma Cazaly (Ulverstone) 10

Karla Jones (Prospect Knights) 10


Photo:  Dane Hudson, the Premier League coach-of-the-year, who took Prospect Knights to their first title in 52 years [PlessPix]

The leading vote-getters in the Northern Premier Reserves were:

Casimir Douglas (Devonport City) 27

Jesse Curran (Devonport City) 21

Rhys Kinslow (Prospect Knights) 15

Scipio Luttmer (Burnie United) 15

Aiden Withers (Burnie United) 13

Kurt Howard (Devonport City) 13

Joseph Summers (Northern Rangers) 12

Andrew Compagne (Prospect Knights) 9

Benjamin Quor (Launceston City) 9

Bobby Eaves (Somerset) 9

Jacob Farran (Launceston City) 9


Photo:  Premier Women's League coach-of-the-year Jason Jones (left) with a Launceston City group of winners [PlessPix]

The leading vote-getters in the Northern Under-18s were:

Yitay Towns (Northern Rangers) 20

ASdam Gorrie (Devonport City) 16

Matthew Youd (Riverside Olympic) 15

Mitchell Hawksley (Launceston United) 14

John Wani (Northern Rangers) 13

Liam Poulson (Riverside Olympic) 13

Abraham Kargbo (Prospect Knights) 12

Keenan Douce (Devonport City) 12

Joshua Garland (Burnie United) 11

Anton la Palambaro (Prospect Knights) 10

Jorge Nicholas (Launceston City) 10


Photo:  A Launceston United group celebrate their Under-18s League title win [PlessPix]


Photo:  Geoff Lyons, the Labor Member for Bass in the House of Representatives, was a guest at the function [PlessPix]


Photo:  Football Federation Tasmania president Sean Collins (left) and Forestry Tasmania CEO Bob Gordon [PlessPix]


Photo:  Mark Baker of Prospect Knights, joint winner of the 2011 George Dale Medal [PlessPix]


Photo:  Todd Hingston of Northern Rangers, joint winner of the 2011 George Dale Medal [PlessPix]