Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 102 guests and no members online


Photo:  Warren Wadawu on the ball for Black Scorpion against Derwent United [PlessPix]

Hobart Tigers beat International 5-2 in Round 5 of the Sister Philippa Chapman Trophy tournament played at the Guilford Young College ground in Hobart today.

Mynonge Kamba and Joseph Manarabu each scored twice and Juma Barabara once as the Tigers showed greater fitness and polish than their opponents.


Photo:  Black Scorpion have gone to the top of the standings with their victory today [PlessPix]

With Tigers leading 1-0, Eddie Mohamed equalised with an excellent header from Aubert Ruzigandekwe’s inch-perfect cross to the far post from the left wing.

Brad Gilroy managed to net another for International, but the Tigers were much too good and ran out easy winners.

In today’s much-anticipated second game of the day featuring the two top sides, Black Scorpion downed Derwent United 4-2 to take over at the top of the standings and force Derwent United into second place.

Derwent United had won all four of their previous matches but could not cope with the speed and determination of Black Scorpion in the wet and slippery conditions.


Photo:  International were no match for Hobar Tigers today and went down 5-2 [PlessPix]

Jae-Ho Lee played superbly for Derwent United ahead of his trip to Wellington, New Zealand, next weekend to trial with A-League outfit Wellington Phoenix.

His one-touch play was brilliant and he set up United’s first goal with a left-wing cross that picked out Yeon-Sun Jo, who controlled the ball, cut inside and scored with a delightful chip that went in off the far post.

Lee’s reading of the play was exceptional and his first touch was spot on and effective.

Aki Gebrezgabir netted two of the Black Scorpion’s goals, while Aquei Guot and Francis Kenyi grabbed the remaining goals.

Byung-Hyun Kyung scored Derwent United’s other goal.


Photo:  Carl Larzabal in action for International against Hobart Tigers [PlessPix]

In today’s remaining match, Rest of the World drew 1-1 with Red Scorpion.

Alex Buga hit Red Scorpion’s goal, while Omar Carrillo replied for Rest of the World.

Hobart Tigers are third on 7 points, Red Scorpion fourth with 5 points, Rest of the World fifth on 3 points and International sixth with one point.

Next Saturday’s semi-finals will be 45-minute halves, with penalty kicks to decide the winner in case of a draw after normal time.


Photo:  International defend a Hobart Tiger corner [PlessPix]

The final the following week will two 15-minute periods of extra-time if it is a draw after normal time.

International will meet Rest of the World at 11am for fifth and sixth places.

Hobart Tigers will play Derwent United in one semi-final, while Black Scorpion play Red Scorpion in the other semi-final.

The two losers will play for third and fourth places on Saturday, 10 December, at 1pm, while the final at 3pm will feature the two semi-final winners.


Photo:  A Hobart Tiger in attack against International [PlessPix]


12  Jae-Ho Lee (Derwent United)

5  Eddie Mohamed (International)

4  Jima Welch, Francis Kenyi (Black Scorpion), Alex Buga (Red Scorpion), Byung-Hyun Kyung (Derwent United), Omar Carrillo (Rest of the World)

3  Elhadi Eldayar (Red Scorpion), Paw Pulaw (Rest of then World), Joseph Manarabu, Mynonge Kamba (Hobart Tigers), Aquei Guot (Black Scorpion)


Photo:  Referee Wubetu Aboye looks on as a Derwent United player is surrounded by Black Scorpion opponents [PlessPix]

2  Justin Letiko, John Opoka, Aki Gebrezgabir (Black Scorpion), Callan Cooper (rest of the World). Frolis Ahayo, Juma Barabara (Hobart Tigers)

1  Yeon-Sun Jo, Iwao Shimizu, Masato Imada (Derwent United), Andy Rhodes, Khadir, Retbe Abrana, Gezachew Atalay, Carl Larzabal, Brad Gilroy (International), Eh Soo, Htoo Lay Gler, Ah Pay, Hsar Thein (rest of the World), Omery Niyongabo, Moussa Manarabu (Hobart Tigers), Fadi, Deng Guot (Red Scorpion), Warren Wadawu, Riak Dhieu, Cosmos Paite, Isaac Gwolo (Black Scorpion)


Photo:  Black Scorpion captain Jai David (left) takes on a Derwent United opponent [PlessPix]


Photo:  Black Scorpion celebrate a goal against Derwent United [PlessPix]


Photo:  Warren Wadawu of Black Scorpion in possession against Derwent United [PlessPix]