Four southern and four northern sides qualified for the quarterfinals of the Milan Lakoseljac Memorial Trophy state-wide competition today.

Clarence United, University, Glenorchy Knights and Hobart Zebras are through from the south, while northern outfits Somerset, Northern Rangers, Riverside Olympic and Prospect Knights were successful.

A first-half strike by Andy Barron and a second-half penalty by Luke Cripps gave Clarence a 2-0 away win over Devonport City at Valley Road.

A second-half goal by Jade Clay gave the Knights a 1-0 win over trophy-holder South Hobart, at South Hobart.

South lost goalkeeper Sam Kruijver with a dislocated shoulder after only five minutes following an aerial clash with Corey Smith.

Tom Sherman’s cross from the left in the 51st minute found Clay, whose first shot was parried by replacement keeper Mark Moncur, but Clay netted from the rebound.

Goals by Nick Reed, Garry Hamilton, Toby Skene and James Nettleton gave Somerset a 4-1 win over Hobart Olympic, who replied through Emmanuel Tsakiris.

Andrew Nicholson have Northern Rangers a 1-0 half-time lead away to Ulverstone, whole second-half strikes by Todd Hingston and Mark Ambrose sealed the game.

Ethan Olner, with two goals, and one apiece by Colin Jackson, Ben Taylor and Stephen Gulbrandson saw Riverside Olympic down the visiting Nelson Eastern Suburbs 5-1. Tom Gordon netted Nelson’s consolation goal.

Beachside held Hobart Zebras to a goalless opening half before Brayden Pace fired Zebras ahead in the 57th minute.

Jayden Welch then netted twice for the visitors to make it 3-0 before Colin Wain pulled a goal back for Beachside a minute from the end.

Ricky Self got on to the end of an Aaron Brazendale corner in the final minute and headed Zebras’ fourth.

Eddie Opira gave University a 1-0 lead at half-time against New Town Eagles at Clare Street, but Adam McKeown equalised to take the game into extra-time.

A penalty shoot-out decided the outcome after there was no further score and University won that showdown 3-1 through successful spot-kicks by the experienced trio of Nigel Blundell, Aaron Hindmarsh and Iain Fletcher.

Wade Savage was the only successful penalty taker for Eagles, with Alex Gordon, Mark Page and McKeown having their efforts saved by Hamish Peacock.

University’s Bryn Griffiths was denied by Eagles keeper Craig Minty for University’s only miss.